NextGen Public Service Awards

Hear From Our 2018 Finalist

Young Government Leaders (YGL) and GovLoop are proud to host the NextGen Public Service Awards for superior public service and achievement each year at the Next Generation of Government Training Summit. The awards recognize deserving individuals selected from the public service community for their intelligence, exuberance and dedication to improving and invigorating government.

 Selection Process

An award winner is selected for each of the following categories:

  • Courageous Champion
  • Silent Hero
  • NextGen Advocate
  • Innovator of the Year
  • Exemplary Leader

For each category, nominees must:

  • Be dedicated to public service at the local, state, or federal level
  • Have made an impact on their work or their colleagues
  • Continue to strive for excellence and advance their organization’s mission in a positive manner

Each nominee will be thoughtfully considered for the award by a selection committee. Finalists will be announced in early spring and winners will be revealed at the Next Generation of Government Training Summit on August 9-10, 2018 in Washington D.C.

The selection committee will score each nominee based solely on what is provided via the nomination form and finalists will be selected based on:

  • The impact they have made on their work or their colleagues
  • Their leadership qualities
  • Their commitment to continuously improve government
  • Their ability to make positive change happen

Nomination Details and Categories

General Information

Finalists are announced the week of March 20, 2018 and the category winners are announced at the Next Generation of Government Training Summit on August 9-10, 2018 in Washington, DC.

Please read more about the award categories and their specific attributes. The selection committee will determine and assign categories based on the information submitted via the nomination form.

Nominations can be submitted for individuals and teams of four or less people. We understand that it takes a village to make change happen, however, we limit the award recognition to four or less people who represent the larger team and their achievements.

Nomination Guidelines

Nominators can be anyone—govie, non-govie, colleague, friend, family, supervisor or neighbor. However, we do not accept self-nominations.

While nominators are not required to be government employees, nominees must be a current government employee and can work at any level of government.

When submitting the nomination form, please provide accomplishments that have occurred within the last three years. We’d like to ensure the finalists are being recognized for recent achievements taking place in government.

Award Categories

Courageous Champion
This award recognizes a public servant that is blazing the path for their generation in government with courage and determination at the local, state, national, or international level.

Silent Hero
This award recognizes a public service leader who has operated behind the scenes, silently working in a dedicated and committed fashion, without the limelight, who has laid the foundation for stellar public service results and has created positive change in their organization at the local, state, national, or international level.

NextGen Advocate
This award recognizes an individual who is consistently and relentlessly advocating for their project or team to further their organization’s mission, or an individual who is dedicated to cultivating talent, mentoring, and helping to guide NextGen public service leaders to become our future community leaders at the local, state, national, or international level.

Innovator of the Year
This category recognizes an individual or team who has identified new opportunities and improved their organization in an innovative way.

Exemplary Leader
This award recognizes an individual government leader who has demonstrated benevolence, competence, integrity, dedication, and commitment to improve and inspire their organization or community at the local, state. national, or international level.

Nomination Form

The nomination form is available online. Before submitting, think through these questions and provide 200 – 500 words per open text question:

  • Nominee & Nominator Contact Fields
  • Describe the nominee’s role in government?
  • Describe what the nominee has done to exceed expectations in their role?
  • Outline a challenge the nominee has faced and how they overcame the challenge?
  • Give an example of how the nominee has impacted positive change in government.
  • Anything additional you’d like to add about the nominee?

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I submit a nomination?
The nomination form is available online. The completed the online nomination form must be done by 11:59 p.m. ET on February 9, 2018.

I can’t access the online nomination form. What do I do?
Feel free to contact us for a Word version of the form that you can email back to us once it’s completed.

Who can submit a nomination?
Anyone can submit a nomination, but they’ll need to be familiar with the nominee’s work and accomplishments.

Can I nominate myself?
No, but you can ask someone else to nominate you.

Can I nominate a team?
Yes, but only for the innovator category! Nominations for teams are limited to four people, with one individual as the main point person. On the nomination form, please submit the main person as the nominee and list the other team members, up to three additional people, in the “anything additional” portion of the nomination form.

Who is eligible for a NextGen Award?
All government employees at any level of government.

What category should I select?
No need to select a category. The selection committee will designate a category based on the information provided on the nomination form. If you feel strongly about a specific category, please mention it in the “anything additional” section of the nomination form.

Is there a limit to the number of nominations a particular nominator or agency may submit?
No. The more, the merrier!

Does the NextGen require agency/office approval of nominations?
No. While some agencies or divisions may conduct their own internal review process, we do not require advance sign-off by a particular office.

Who chooses the finalists and winners?
The finalists and award recipients are determined by the selection committee following a careful review of the nominations.

What recognition do nominees receive if not selected as a category winner?
In addition to the wonderful news that the nominee’s supervisor or colleague has recognized their hard work and achievements and took the time to submit a nomination, all finalists will be recognized at the Next Generation of Government Training Summit prior to the announcement of the category winner.

I just submitted a nomination! When can I expect to hear from you?
Nominators, nominees and submitters (if applicable) will receive emails the week of March 20 letting them know the status of the nomination.

I still have questions. Who can I contact?
For additional information, contact Megan Dotson at (202) 407-7408 or [email protected].